2010 RI Children’s Book Award

The results are in and Rhode Island’s students have cast their votes!  Amulet (Book 1: The Stonekeeper) by Kazu Kibushi is the Rhode Island Children’s Book Award winner for 2010.  The RICBA Committe summarizes:

“Emily and her brother Navin are lost in an alternative world of Alledia as they chase the tentacled beast that kidnapped their mother. The key to their survival lies in Emily’s amulet and her ability to control its powers.”

 This series also continues with Amulet (Book 2: The Stonekeeper’s Curse), and Amulet (Book 3: The Cloud Searchers).  These books are recommended for grades 4-6.

 The complete list of nominees for this year were:

Kibuishi, Kazu. Amulet. Book 1, The Stonekeeper.
Scieszka, Jon. Knucklehead.
Korman, Gordon. Swindle.
Schulman, Janet. Pale Male: Citizen Hawk of New York City.
Look, Lenore. Alvin Ho: Allergic to Girls, School and Other Scary Things.
Law, Ingrid. Savvy.
Cox, Judy. Puppy Power.
Nobleman, Marc Tyler. Boys of Steel: The Creators of Superman.
Wolf, Joan M. Someone Named Eva.
Avi. The Seer of Shadows.
Haddix, Margaret Peterson. Dexter the Tough.
Giff, Patricia Reilly. Eleven.
Barrows, Annie. The Magic Half.
Nuzum, K.A. The Leanin’ Dog.
Hurwitz, Joanna. Squirrel World.
Dowell, Frances O’Roark. Shooting the Moon.
Preller, James. Along Came Spider.
Park, Linda Sue. Tap Dancing on the Roof.
Perkins, Mitali. Rickshaw Girl.
Frazier, Sundee T. Brendan Buckley’s Universe and Everything in It.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s